Under the Stars

stars and trees

The Pic: Under the Stars

This weekend I went camping with the family and decided to try my hand at some star/night photography. I meant to read up on shooting stars a little more before I left, but I ran out of time. I did remember from some previous reads that 30 seconds is really the longest exposure you can use, as much longer than that and your stars turn into streaks from the rotation of the earth. So I set my exposure time to 30 seconds and played around with my other setting to try to get a decent exposure of the stars. I quickly discovered that it is very difficult to get decent night sky photos as you really can’t tell exactly where you are aiming until after you have taken the photo. So it was a lot of trial and error to get a decent composition. The whole experience certainly left me longing for a wider lens. However I was able to come away with a couple of shots that I am happy with for my first time trying this type of photography and I will share those with you this week.

Creative Commons License

This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-ShareAlike 3.0 Unported License.

This entry was posted by Justin Gazlay.

Leave a comment here

