Family Photos: Skankeys

SkankeyFamily

Sarah has become a good friend of mine over the last few months. They are neighbors of ours in Boulder. Her and her sweet family needed family portraits done for the fall and I offered to take some to build my portfolio. We went out to the Boulder Creek to try and catch some fall colors, light, and nature. I have already learned a lot of ‘what-not-to-dos’ from taking these, but I am still really excited about how they came out. They weren’t hard to photograph, which made it easy on me! Some turned out darker through flickr, but most look ok.

SkankeyPortrait

Sarah&Jackson

I love the light that hits Sarah’s eyes in this one. I like the way shadows on their face makes it obvious that they were outside and it just seems more natural, but I learned through these that shadows on faces can be very tricky and difficult too.

SkankeyFamily3

The way Sarah and Eric interact with their little guy just exudes natural love and affection. I think it was Henry Ward Beecher who said, ‘we never know the love of a parent until we become parents ourselves.’ This is so true!

Eric&Jackson

The following three pictures are of their precious son Jackson. Our daughter loves to play with Jackson. Sarah and I try to hang out throughout the week so they can play and to make the days go by faster. No one really warns you how lonely and isolating being a stay-at-home mom can sometimes be. Our play dates and walks with Sarah and Jackson are always a fun adventure in our day.

Jackson

Believe me, he is as precious as he looks.

JacksonRedHat

Jackson3

I also learned a lot about photographing babies. Their movements are spastic, unpredictable, and their moods can change quickly. Thanks for letting me photograph/experiment/learn with your beautiful family Sarah!

This entry was posted by Emily Gazlay.

Leave a comment here

