Lighthouse Keeper’s House at Sunrise

MonheganSunrise

All Good Things Come to Those… Who Wake Up

I don’t know about you but I am not a morning person. I love to sleep in. At the same time I love the colors that appear in the sky at sunrise and sunset. Capturing those requires sacrificing sleep (at least for the sunrise colors). On this particular morning I had planned to head out nice and early to hike up to the top of the Island where the lighthouse is. My daughter Annalise woke up about 20 minutes before my alarm was set to go off, so I made her a bottle and started out. The colors in the sky were great and with results like this I am very glad that I didn’t just head back under the covers. I never remember the extra little sleep I got when I decide to go back to bed but I always remember when I make the choice to get up and go out to shoot.

The Pic: Lighthouse Keeper’s House at Sunrise

I always think that it would have been cool to be a lighthouse keeper. It seems like a cool life – live by the ocean, not too much to do but keep the light lit and explore around the island. Then I realize how hard of a life it would be and am grateful that I can just enjoy imagining the great parts and not have to live through the isolation, boredom, and stress of maintaining a lighthouse.

This summer my family and I were vacationing in Maine and we traveled by ferry to a remote fishing village off the coast called Monhegan. It was like stepping back in time. The lighthouse for Monhegan is not located on the coast but right in the middle of the Island on the tallest hill. I had not been up there before this morning so I wasn’t sure what I would find. It was much harder to find good shots than I expected. The ocean horizon was mostly obscured by trees and the lighthouse was surrounded by a radio antenna and power lines. When I think of a lighthouse I definitely don’t picture it surrounded by modern technology. I did find several good angles though, and this is one of them.

One of the areas I need the most improvement in is slowing down and really examining the whole scene through the lens. I often find myself rushing around trying to get all the different shots I see, while not spending enough time examining the composition. This is especially true in these sunrise or sunset situations when the light is changing so quickly. Then when I get home and am editing the pictures I find myself wishing I had moved a little this way or rotated a touch this way. If I can train myself to slow down a little in the field than maybe I will end up with less total shots, but more really good ones. Maybe this is something that can apply to every aspect of my life. I am often rushing through to get to the next thing without taking the time to stop and enjoy whatever I am doing at the moment. I’m sure many of you can relate.

Creative Commons License
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-ShareAlike 3.0 Unported License.

This entry was posted by Justin Gazlay.

One thought on “Lighthouse Keeper’s House at Sunrise

  1. Pingback: Bell, Boat, Lighthouse « Bound in Light Photography

Leave a comment here

